2017 Finalists

Congratulations to the finalists in this year’s eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook Awards!

Best Anthology

Apocalyptic Fears VI, Reaper Press (Publisher)
Revolution, MiFiWriters.org (Publisher)
Memories of the Past, Fantasia Divinity Magazine (Publisher)
Killing It Softly, Digital Fiction (Publisher)
Bite-Size Stories, George Donnelly (Editor)
Coven: Masterful Tales of Fantasy, Andi O’Connor (Editor)

Best Novel

Ashes of Life by Ericka Lucke Dean
The Thing Is by Kathleen Gerard
Safekeeping: A Novel by Jessamyn Hope
How Many Letters Are In Goodbye by Yvonne Cassidy
The Lost Memories of Meriwether Klark by Sarina Dorie
Coco Pinchard’s Big Fat Tipsy Wedding by Robert Bryndza

Best Novella

Happy Witchgiving by Amanda M. Lee
The Winter Kill: A Medieval Mystery Novella by J.R. Tomlin
The Terracotta Bride by Zen Cho
Swift and the Black Dog by Ginn Hale

Best Poetry Collection

Girl Without a Country by Catherine Jones
Contemplative Moments by Iris Oh
Where the Poetree Grows by Los Gatos High School Class of 2019
Broom of Anger by Lisa Brunette
My Demons Were Always With Me by Gracie A. Matthews

Best Short Story

Shoreside by Vonnie Winslow Crist (From Memories of the Past)
A Trick of the Dark by Tina Rath (From Killing It Softly)
The Tome of Bill Christmas Carol by Rick Gualtieri (From Collected Christmas Horror Shorts)
Servant of the Sea by D. Thomas Minton (From Coven: Masterful Tales of Fantasy)
Arturia by David Landrum (From King of Ages: A King Arthur Anthology)

Best Short Story Collection

The Greener Forest by Vonnie Winslow Crist
The Disciple and Other Stories of the Paranormal by Jemma Chase
Fairies, Robots and Unicorns?—Oh My! By Sarina Dorie
The Jillian Bradley Short Story Collection by Nancy Jill Thames
Night Conjurings: Tales of Terror by Harvey Click

Best Children’s Book

Mermaids Can Ride Bicycles by Delphina Henley and Deedle Miyares
Skink Gully by Des Hunt
Tokens and Omens by Jeri Baird
Daniel the Camp-er by S.J. Henderson
Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

Best Fantasy (Contemporary/Urban Fantasy)

Chameleon Assassin by BK Kingsolver
Dragon’s Tail by Joseph Malik
Death Bound by Justin Sloan and Michael La Ronn
Different Lee by Bill Hiatt
Dead Ground by Adam J. Wright
Fallen to Grace by A.J. Flowers

Best Fantasy (High Fantasy/Sword and Sorcery)

Spindle by W.R. Gingell
Tengoku by Rae D. Magdon
Techromancy Scrolls: Masquerade by Erik Schubach
Kingdom Blades by Melissa McPhail
Shield of the Summer Prince by Erik Scott de Bie
A Taste of Death and Honey by Sharon Bayliss

Best Historical

Pestilence: Once Loved by Margaret Brazear
Champion Standing by Mark Gardner
Diana and the Gypsy by Margaret Lake
Stronghold by Nicki Bennett and Ariel Tachna
The White Chariot by Richard Denning
The Left-Handed Marriage by A. O’Connor

Best Horror

Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain
The House That Death Built by Michaelbrent Collings
The Last Day by Baileigh Higgins
The Vampire of Rome by Lincoln Farish
The Bride of Ashbryn House by Amy Cross

Best General Fiction

Fallen Honor: A Jesse McDermitt Novel by Wayne Stinnett
After the Roses by Shayne Parkinson
Dead Beat Dates & Deities by J.C. Wing
Deep Redemption by Tillie Cole

Best Literary Fiction

What Happened on Beale Street by Mary Ellis
Blackmoore: A Novel by Marcus James
Ashes of Life by Ericka Lucke Dean
The Pawnbroker: A Novel by Edward Lewis Wallant
The Footman by A. O’Connor

Best Mystery/Suspense

Murder in the Salon by Kennedy Chase
One Spoonful of Trouble by Nic Saint
Yom Killer: A Rabbi Aviva Cohen Mystery by Llene Schneider
Grim Expectations by Amanda M. Lee
Capture by M.P. McDonald
Getting Thin is Murder by Al Moe
Bed, Breakfast, and Bones by Carolyn L. Dean

Best Romance

The Minstrel’s Lady by Margaret Brazear
Sweetheart Bride by Vicky Loebel
Elusive Radiance by Aidee Ladnier
Water and Fire by Rowan McAllister
Suddenly Spellbound by Erica Lucke Dean
The Thing Is by Kathleen Gerard

Best Non-Fiction

Blue Collar to No Collar: From Trucker to Bestselling Novelist in Two Years by Wayne Stinnett
Teacher Misery: Helicopter Parents, Special Snowflakes and Other Bullshit by Jane Morris
The Little Book of Icelandic: On the idiosyncrasies, delights and sheer tyranny of the Icelandic language by Alda Sigmundsdottir
A Lifetime Of Fishing by Jack Walsh

Best Science Fiction

Collision of Worlds by Lincoln Cole
Incursion: Merkiaari Wars by Mark E. Cooper
Fixer by Gene Doucette
A Dragon at the Gate by Michael G. Munz
Slipdrift by E.A. Szabelski
Timeshaft by Stewart Bint

Best Thriller

The Broken Ones by Sarah A. Denzil
Cold Hearted: A Yancy Lazarus Novel by James Hunter
Alive From New York by Edward G. Talbot
Throw a Dog a Bone by Russ Hall
Deadline by Jessica James
Blood Symbols by Izak Botha

Best Young Adult

Consider by Kristy Acevedo
David by Johnny Worthen
The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skruskie
Altar of Reality by Mara Valderran
Before by KE Payne

Special Categories

Small Press of the Year
Whortleberry Press
Dragon Moon Press
Red Adept Publishing
Dreamspinner Press

Author of the Year

David Neth
Wayne Stinnett
Elizabeth Ann West
Courtney Milan

Finalist Seal

A note to all finalists:

For finalists who are wondering how they ended up here, please refer to our explanation here. The same license that we offered for the Nomination Seal applies to the Finalist seal. Also, please make sure to read the rules regarding the open voting period.

Leave a Reply